I HAVE A DREAM – MARTIN LUTHER KING

Image

By Nwachukwu Joshua

50 years ago, on August 28, 1963, on the steps of the Lincoln memorial In Washington, before a crowd of 250,000, Dr. Martin Luther King delivered a memorable speech, “I have a dream.” In this speech, he told the American people and the world, of his dreams for liberty, equality, fraternity and justice. This speech prompted the 1964 Civil Rights Act.

King’s dreams are almost a reality today because there is no longer any constitutional segregation in the United States and the two-term election of Barack Obama, an African America, as the president of the United States of America is the culmination of that dream.

Like Martin Luther, I am also a man of dreams.

I dream of that day when all nations will rise up and live out the true meaning of a creed inherent in natural law that says that all men, including the unborn, are created equally and should be treated equally.

I have a dream that in our pursuit for human rights, that we will defend the truth that every human being, whatever society or age he lives in, is endowed with a dignity which must never be lessened, harmed or destroyed, but respected and safeguarded.

I have a dream that one day the clinics, hospitals, states and countries responsible for the blood of innocent human lives at any stage will be transformed into an oasis of respect for the dignity of the human person.

I have a dream that unborn children will be given the chance to live regardless of whether they were conceived, through rape or incest.

I have a dream that one day, pro-lifers and pro-choice would no longer disagree on the humanity of a child or value of the human persons, but will work together like brothers and sisters to protect the dignity of human life from the womb to the tomb.

I dream, that one day old peoples homes, orphanages and pregnancy crisis centres shall be exalted, all abortion clinics and houses of euthanasia shall be close, and the glory of the lord shall be revealed, and all flesh shall see it together.

I have a dream that in our pursuit for a real life for all people, we would embrace the truth that life starts from conception and that marriage is a union between a man and a woman till death do them part.

I have a dream that in our pursuit for peace, in our land, in our hearts, we should fight for justice, just payment for workers, no matter its cost.

I have a dream that the glaring gap of inequalities in the world today between the haves and the haves not would be reduced.

I have a dream that all persons who face persecutions and even martyrdom because of their faith will one day have the joy of religious freedom.

I have a dream that one-day people of the world will realise that there is God who is a Father- the giver of all liberties- and come to love him.

I have a dream that we will be freed from poverty everywhere in the world, because poverty, a result of tyranny and corruption, is a danger to the dignity human beings everywhere.

I have a dream that one day all will realise that true freedom is doing what one ought to do and not what one wants to do.

I have a dream that the world will come to see women as human beings and not as instrument of pleasure and that a woman’s needs are more than abortion.

I have a dream that the good persons in society will not remain silent when the values we cherish most are in peril but rise up to defend to truth.

I have a dream that despite the apparent victory of darkness over the world, light will and shall always overcome darkness.

I have a dream that my dreams will come through.

6 comments on “I HAVE A DREAM – MARTIN LUTHER KING

  1. Pingback: I heard it coming and yet it caught me unawares! | Rob's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: I Still Believe in the Dream | Charles Ray's Ramblings

  3. Pingback: (Adam Green) Just got back from Martin Luther King event… | Sunset Daily

  4. Pingback: chatline

  5. Pingback: chat

  6. Beautifully crafted article. I still wish I could have some influence/input/impact on your writing… at least from time to time.

Leave a comment